Through a Child’s Eyes-Song

“Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18:2-4

Sometimes our perspective on life gets tainted. We can’t see through the glass clearly anymore. God becomes like a faint memory of something good or bad, a dusty figurine packed away with all the other moments that we’ve partly suppressed as the past. Having children is a constant reminder of the simplicity with which I once held faith, before I understood that – intentions run deep.

I get so frightened when my 6 year old daughter asks me about God. She still thinks of God as someone simple, someone there, not someone there only when others are not.

It’s like I’m hiding a secret from her, that my childlike faith, her childlike faith may turn into a grown up mess searching for answers in all the wrong places. I wrote this song recently, after my daughter made a simple, childlike comment about God. I do not even remember what the comment was now, but I remembered God saying that unless we come to him as children, we will not enter the Kingdom of heaven. This, in other words, was a prayer for God to show me the keys to the Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

