To those who’ve Lost your mom….

My adopted daughter, Nina, wrote a poem about her biological mother, Justine. I made it into a song. I still have my mother, but for those of you who’ve already lost your mom — this song is for you. We just got back from Disney, and I screamed on a ride or two, so please excuse the scruffiness of my voice. Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers, both biological & adoptive!!

You gave life to me
gave a start to destiny
now I know
There’s no other love like yours
After all I received
the day you conceived
I miss you
I miss you mom
Your love was complete
gave me everything I need
Now I wish
I could tell you all those things
I should have said more
all the things I’m sorry for
I miss you
I miss you mom
The day you said goodbye
left me here to wonder why
and who would be my shoulder
to cry on
I dream about those times
of lullabies and rhymes
I miss you
I miss you mom
Do you hear my voice
If I only had one choice
I’d give you life
just like you gave to me
You said you’d never leave
but I know it’s destiny
I miss you
I miss you mom
Bridge:
I’d give you all you missed
if I only had one wish
I’d hold back all the clouds
up in the sky
with days as bright as the sun
mom
We’d play and run
I miss you
I miss you mom

10 thoughts on “To those who’ve Lost your mom….

  1. very beautiful. i lost my mom is 2004 and I must admit, Mother’s Day is a bit difficult to deal with. this put a smile on my face. thank you for posting.

    • Hi words4jp, thank you for stopping by my blog and I’m really glad you enjoyed the song. It’s hard for me to post such “imperfection” but I figure I just need to get over myself. Sorry about your loss! Anna

  2. What a wonderful tribute by your daughter to her mother and a wonderful gift by you to your daughter. It’s a circle of love.

Leave a Reply

