Heroin in Charlotte, NC – HEROIN Socially Acceptable?

***Update***, many have found my blog recently by searching for some variant of “heroin in Charlotte”……readers, this is all the more reason to be vigilant about what you’re posting online.  It is being indexed and it has the power to lead someone down a narrow road or down the broad road to destruction.  If you’re looking for heroin, stop and look for help.  Read below and see that I can understand your desire to “get high.”  But find a healthy high, a God’s Holy Spirit High.  Don’t fill your veins with synthetic drugs…fill your heart with Jesus.  All cliché, but it won’t seem so innocent when you can’t find your way out and you’re too embarrassed to tell others that you have a problem.

‘where to get drugs’ is Googled 16,600,000 times per month.”

So, apparently, someone very important at one of the big medical centers in Charlotte, NC made a statement that there is a new trend of wealthy young adults getting hooked on heroine in the BEST neighborhoods in Charlotte.  (this is my interpretation from local news media).  Here’s the national news story.

First, let me say that I’m not shocked AT ALL.

Second, let me say that in a statement by ‘someone’ on the Fox Charlotte news station, it was said that law enforcement will not be dealing with this problem by hitting the streets to “arrest people.”  Of course, they’re not.  If it were the “poor” neighborhoods that were seeing a surge in heroine use, THEN they would start locking people up.  (But, that’s a different story altogether.)

I grew up in a house that definitely taught no drinking, no drugs (cigs were included).  My parents used to play this educational game with us.  They would cut up strips of white paper, offer us a cigarette and we were prompted to say “no.”  This actually worked for my siblings and me.  None of us are smokers now (not that I know of).  Unfortunately, “prescription drugs” were not covered.  They probably didn’t need to be, as “opiates,” “narcotics” were most likely not as readily available back then.

Ever since I had my first child and the hospital gave me a narcotic to relieve the pain after delivery….I’ve LOVED the way it makes me feel, so much so, that I tell everyone how much I love the high, so that they can make sure I don’t end up like “one of the upper lower middle class users” who find themselves checking into Carolina’s Medical Center because of a heroine overdose with Oxycontin having been their gateway drug.

I really hate to say this, and probably shouldn’t.  But, getting a narcotic prescription has been one of the fondest memories surrounding birthing babies.  See, I have no problem with acute pain.  I would show the doctors that I was really tough by having NO medication (no narcotics/no epidural) DURING the delivery and then AFTER the delivery, I’d ask for Vicodin or whatever flavor was on the menu at the time.  Then, I’d spend the rest of the time in the hospital and those first few days at home REALLY cherishing my new child who was keeping me up – day in and day out.

This is all somewhat of a rabbit trail post, but I’d venture to guess that part of postpartum depression could be attributed to coming down off that high when your prescription runs out after a few weeks.  When you’re high, you’re thinking, “Oh, I need to make another baby like RIGHT NOW….look at how cute he is.”  You stand there at night rocking the baby back and forth thinking to your sweet little motherly self about how that piercing cry is just a small foretaste of heaven.  NOTHING can bring you down.   Except running out of your drugs.

Well, in order to curb my love for that high, I’ve always listened to the still small voice that told me to throw it away before I got down to the bottom of the bottle.  So EVERY time I’ve had a prescription for a narcotic, I discipline myself to get rid of it early.
But what about those that have nothing better in their life to reel them in from their depths of despair?  What about those who will never, ever find anything close to that high in their everyday lives?  I can completely understand how they keep going until they realize they’ve taken their LAST feel good dose, and they need to hit the streets for more.

What about you?  How do you deal with your inclination toward “the dark side?”  How do you curb your appetite before it becomes an addiction?

****Sharing my story about the births of my four children and the ensuing enjoyment of the prescription medications are not meant to make light of drug use.  My intent is to shine light on how we’re all susceptible to finding ourselves addicted without the initial intention of long term drug use.

3 thoughts on “Heroin in Charlotte, NC – HEROIN Socially Acceptable?

  1. I embrace the dark side. when I want to shoot dope, i find it, and I do. Unlike most weak minded individuals I can function fully as an addict, I’ve never missed a day of work and I’ve never robbed or hurt anyone to get my fix. I live within my means and I live a balanced life using heroin to ease my aches and pains. if that cuts 20 years off my life, big deal I don’t wanna be a 80 year old burden to my friends and family anyway

    • Right. As you should notice, the article is titled “Heroin in Charlotte.” What I’ve noticed with SEO, is that often times people search for a misspelled version of the word and I doubt that someone would be wondering how to search for a “heroine” in Charlotte. And no, I don’t consider myself a journalist. The reason I detest “journalism” in mainstream form is that so much of what one might say has to be censored. Often times, a journalist spends more time worrying about the correctness of their grammar as opposed to just saying what they think/feel. Thank you for reading though.

Leave a Reply

