“Thinking of Suicide”

“thinking of suicide” is Googled 14,800 times per month”

This doesn’t even take into account every variation on the subject of suicide that is being Googled each and every month.

About four years ago, I started publishing press releases that were meant to come to the top of the search engine for certain search phrases so that those “searching for the answers in all the wrong places” would find a positive message that would divert their attention toward something good.

The top phrases that were searched for when people found my press release are as follows:
1.suicide pills
2.suicide by pills
3.suicide with pills
4.pills for suicide
5.pills suicide

Perhaps all of these searches are by people who are writing research papers on suicide. But it’s disturbing that this press release has received around 3,000 hits since it was published, and it’s not even faring that well in the search engine. I also find it interesting that since I first published it, the monthly number of people searching for “suicide pills” has increased by 3,000.

Here is the press release:

Suicide Pills-are not the answer. Suicide is not the answer. Stop the pain. Dump the pills.

Over 9,000 people Google “suicide pills” monthly. This doesn’t take into account those individuals who are looking for other ways to end their life. You are 1 of over 9,000 people, just this month, who have searched for a way to stop the pain.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRLog (Press Release) – Jul. 1, 2009 – Suicide pills will kill you. But you’re already dead. No one will notice you’re gone. You’ve spent so long trying to prove yourself. Trying to make up for past mistakes and working so hard to prevent future failure, you’re tired. Now it’s time to give up. Nothing is ever good enough. You gave everything you had to give, even the parts of you that were less desirable, in hopes that transparency would garner mutual respect. But you ended up taking all the blame. You thought giving everything you had to give, even if it caused you physical hurt and shame, would be enough to earn their love. You went the whole way. You stuck with them through thick and thin. You held their hand in the dark. You made it through last night because the lights were out. But today your story is incomplete. No one knows where you’re headed. Not even you. You’ve come to the dead-end of two roads diverged: either keep sacrificing yourself in exchange for the hope of true love or simply put an end to the misery by taking suicide pills.

Over 9,000 people Google “suicide pills” monthly. This doesn’t even take into account those individuals who are looking for other specific ways in which to end their life. You are 1 of over 9,000 people, just this month, who have searched for suicide pills—or a way to stop the pain. The pain of your past, the uncertainty of your future…..the inexplicable urge to discover something that you’re not sure exists—are all burdens too overwhelming to keep carrying on your own.

When I was on the broad road to self destruction, there were many times that I thought suicide would be an easy way out, a way to end the hurt…a way to finalize my rejection…a way to escape the consequences…a way to avoid my shame. I wanted to end my life because deep down, I knew I was already dead in my own trespasses and sin. (Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”) I tried to justify myself by comparing myself to other people. I thought, “At least I am better than them.” Sometimes I even tried to out-perform myself, “I will just be a better person.” But it never worked. I always ended up slipping back into the darkness. Every time I was around my friends, I felt better, because they seemed happy on the outside just like me. But anytime I was alone again, just me and the four walls, I felt surrounded by the reality of my life and isolated by the fact that no one really knew the pain I was feeling. I felt lost. Sometimes I would flip on the television and hear a story about a politician or preacher who had been “found out” and I would sit there feeling righteous in my own actions, not because I had never done anything wrong, but because I had been a better actor. (Romans 3:23, “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.”)

But deep down inside, though I felt so dead, I really didn’t want to die. I wanted to live. I REALLY wanted to LIVE. I was tired of hanging out with the “walking dead.” My casual lifestyle had become my casualty. I knew that the “Truth would set me free.” But I didn’t know the TRUTH. I remembered the song from childhood, “Jesus loves me, this I know.” But I didn’t KNOW. I wanted to believe it was real. I wanted to believe He could rescue me from everything all at once. But at the same time, I was too embarrassed to admit I needed a savior. Even though I was skilled at giving others a chance to rescue me, I always ended up drowning—because they were trying to come up for air too. They needed a Savior. Just like me. Our efforts to hang on tight to human love, pushed us even farther away from God.

I’m writing this press release because I know your pain. I feel your heartache and I relate to your loneliness.

Imagine a world so lost, Google is queried more times than God.

Stop searching in all the wrong places for your answers to a life of contentment and peace. Suicide pills are not the answer. Suicide is not the answer.

Jesus came to seek and to save the lost. It doesn’t matter what you’ve done. It doesn’t matter what other people think of you. It doesn’t matter how ashamed you feel. It doesn’t matter how much other people have hurt you. It doesn’t matter what you’re trying to hide. ( Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”)

You may be thinking, “I don’t even know Jesus. You’re introducing Him to me for the first time. Why should I trust Him?” Funny how you meet someone online or in a bar for the first time and you’re ready to give them a chance, end up getting burned, and still yet give them another chance…..but the very giver of life….the very man who can give you exactly what it is you’ve been looking for all along…..the man that will REALLY love you unconditionally, the man that will hold you in the palm of his hand and handle your inner truth with the utmost love and respect….JESUS…..you decide to exercise caution with Him.

If there was ever a time you needed to give another person in your life a chance, it is NOW. Jesus is the way, the truth and the LIFE. Choose Life. Romans 6:23 “But the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”

All you have to do is stop placing your faith in your friends, partying, relationships, family, drugs, sexual deviance and anything else that takes the place of Jesus as your Lord. Tell Jesus out loud that you accept him as your Savior. Believe in your heart that God raised Jesus from the dead so that you could have LIFE. (Romans 10:9, “That if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.”)

Here is a simple prayer to pray to God. Saying this prayer is a way to declare to God that you are relying on Jesus Christ for your salvation. The words themselves will not save you. Only faith in Jesus Christ can provide salvation! “God, I know that I have sinned against you and am deserving of punishment. But Jesus Christ took the punishment that I deserve so that through faith in Him I could be forgiven. With your help, I place my trust in You for salvation. Thank You for Your wonderful grace and forgiveness – the gift of eternal life! Amen!”

I started the ministry of using press releases and keywords to help people who are searching in all the wrong places for answers to their life’s problems. I decided to write this article for those of you who were searching for ‘suicide pills.’ Please don’t take your life. Jesus loves you. I know that life is hard. But there is hope in Jesus Christ. I want to pray for you. This ministry originally started as an outreach to married couples having problems. However, the problems in the world are so many and so diverse, that I wanted to reach out to anyone who might be hurting. Please email me if you would like me to pray for you: marriageprayers@gmail.com I will respond to your email. I will try to pray for you every day. If the prayer requests become to numerous, I will engage others to pray for you.

I hope you’ve accepted Christ as your Savior. Please know that I’ve tried many different roads and none have brought peace and fulfillment, except faith in Christ. Jesus will meet the needs of your heart. Accept Him. He will accept you.

# # #

2 thoughts on ““Thinking of Suicide”

Leave a Reply

