Planting TOO many seeds

‘how to plant seeds’ is Googled around 300,000 times per month globally.

Township 4 Kannapolis-20130416-00029 Township 4 Kannapolis-20130416-00027

So, I’m not sure what is going on with me, but I am in a seed planting mood.  I’ve even recently transplanted grass from my backyard to the front yard.  The problem is, that it doesn’t matter HOW MANY seeds you plant.  If you do not take the time to pick the weeds, water just the right amount and watch out for pests, your seeds will probably not bear any flowers or fruit and you will be disappointed, thinking that surely out of ALL the seeds you planted, at least one of them would have grown to the full sized beauty you had imagined.

There are a couple of problems with my urgency to plant seeds.  First, I know nothing about the particular seeds I’m planting, much less how to garden in general.  Second, I do not have the time to dedicate to each and every seed from germination to adulthood.  Third, I do not have the patience to wait for the end results.

So many seeds, so many dreams, so little time to invest in every single thing we would like to see come to fruition in our lives.  What would happen if we planted only a handful of seeds, ones that we have enough knowledge to cultivate, carefully choosing those that can withstand our particular environment, those seeds that need just the amount of time, watering and effort we can afford to invest.

Sometimes, our tendency is to sow as many seeds as possible, hoping that at least ONE of them will make it into a strong and hearty product of all the time and money we put in.  We sow a few here, sow a few there.  Oh my goodness, I forgot that a month ago I planted that seed.  Let me go check on it.  Oh my, the dirt is all dried up, all shriveled up.  There is no sign of life.  Why don’t my seeds ever grow?  Why don’t they ever take root? I’m so tired.  I’m so tired of planting seeds.

It is quite fulfilling to brag about how many seeds we’ve planted.  It makes us feel like we’re getting something done.  Our stories are always about the seeds we’re planting, not about the crops we’re harvesting.  The problem with patience, in being selective with those seeds we choose to plant, is that others might not notice the work we’re putting in.  They might think we’re at a standstill because they can’t see the underground work of germination, the mornings and nights of watering, days of sheltering from the sun.  For days, weeks, months and years on end, it might seem like we’re watering ghosts.  What if everyone laughs when something doesn’t grow as big as I wanted it to?  What if this thing doesn’t take off at all?  What will people think if it just looks like I’m tending dirt all day?

Choose your seeds carefully.  Learn as much as you can about planting in general.  Learn even more about the particular seeds you’ve chosen.  Be patient as you wait for the results.  Don’t forget that regimen is important.

Sometimes, it feels like we’re stuck in the stage of cultivation, especially within the church music program.  Some seeds have been planted.  We have to remember to keep watering, keep sheltering and keep praying, all the while trusting the end results to God’s hands.  Afterall, HE was the first TRUE gardener.  Sometimes, we have to fight the tendency to keep scattering seeds anywhere and everywhere, just because we are afraid the ones we planted might not grow.

3 thoughts on “Planting TOO many seeds

  1. Pingback: Spring time gardening | Spunky Wayfarer knits and bakes

Leave a Reply

