My Father

Story of a man's immigration journey from a primitive African village to the United States Air Force Academy as an international exchange cadet. Stark images of the dissonance between two worlds, one where poverty reigns and the other where goodwill outweighs good sense. This book reveals the epic struggle of immigrants everywhere searching for a better life in the United States, only to find that what they've left behind haunts them even past pledging their allegiance to a new flag of hope.  Adopting America contains vivid imagery of what it's like to try to exist within a world that is not your own--of how it feels to adopt the ways of the Western world. A true story of International Adoption intertwines with the plot to give a realistic view of what it's like to adopt children from a third world country and hope they adopt American ways.  This book also includes a detailed account of life as an international exchange cadet at the United States Air Force Academy, with contrasts to third world military systems in comparison to the more developed U.S. military.

Story of a man’s immigration journey from a primitive African village to the United States Air Force Academy as an international exchange cadet. Stark images of the dissonance between two worlds, one where poverty reigns and the other where goodwill outweighs good sense. This book reveals the epic struggle of immigrants everywhere searching for a better life in the United States, only to find that what they’ve left behind haunts them even past pledging their allegiance to a new flag of hope.
Adopting America contains vivid imagery of what it’s like to try to exist within a world that is not your own–of how it feels to adopt the ways of the Western world. A true story of International Adoption intertwines with the plot to give a realistic view of what it’s like to adopt children from a third world country and hope they adopt American ways.
This book also includes a detailed account of life as an international exchange cadet at the United States Air Force Academy, with contrasts to third world military systems in comparison to the more developed U.S. military.

‘fatherless’ is Googled around 22,000 times per month globally.
I don’t know who my father is and I’m not sure I’d ever taken the time to care had I not been introduced to the very western idea that fatherless children are sociological cripples living one-dimensional lives.  Or it could be that I’ve had to fill out one too many forms where my only option was to leave some spaces blank.  But, in my mind and on the verge of my tongue, I’ve always had a story to tell—a father figure to paint as having been  there for me, if not always when I needed him, at least when I needed him the most.  One father, I’ve carried in my pocket for quite some time.  Having never really known him—it was his small wallet sized headshot that increased in value overtime—until I don’t know what I’d do if I had to stop supposing he could be the one.  Then there was the resident father.  The one who could tell me what to do and follow-up with threats of violence should I foolishly decide not to follow his lead.  Most of the time, in the village, he was physically there.  We all lived together.  Him, my mom, and all ten of us children.

Leave a Reply

