Landscaping on NO Budget

‘cheap landscaping’ is Googled around 6,000 times per month.

                                 TRANSPLANTING GRASS

BEFORE                                        AFTER
Township 4 Kannapolis-20130412-00173Township 4 Kannapolis-20130412-00177

So, last week I posted that I cleaned up the area next to my house, planted a foundation shrub and that I was disappointed with the results.  Well, once again, I decided to try to spruce it up a little more.  The area from the concrete to the white fence was initially weeds and rocks.  The “Before” picture above shows the dirt that I kind of broke up.  I scraped the rocks away first and then broke up the ground some, so that I could lay some grass on top.  Since I really do not have money to invest in “landscaping” I had to look around our acre of land and see if there was some grass I could take from somewhere else.  In our back yard, we have several trees where the grass grows in little pods.  I never mow there (too many sticks and acorns), so decided it would work for me to take the bright green pods of grass, dig them up one by one and put them in this area, so that it would look a little more manicured.

I went to the backyard and dug up little bits of grass.  My three-year-old and four-year-old went behind me as I dug up the grass, helped me load it into the wagon and we came back around to the front each time to see how much more we had to dig, after we placed what we had so far.  It was a little tricky, because they wanted to place the grass themselves and I would have preferred to be a little bit more meticulous with it, since it is already “scrappy” grass.  But oh well.  They were happy to help.  You can’t see it in this picture, but I also dug up some wild flowers and interspersed them in the grass.

Last year, the state came and helped us deepen our ditches next to the road and slanted them downhill so that our water would run off better.  I took the grass from that excavation, and outlined a half circle into the rock driveway, to give it some character, a place to park the cars.  This is how I got the idea to transplant some grass from the backyard to the front.

Tomorrow, I will fill in some of the dark spots you see.

Anyone ever used grass from their yard to transplant in another area?  Any other ideas for those of us who have NO LANDSCAPING BUDGET??

Leave a Reply

