Easy Cake. It’s the Thought that Counts.

IMG-20130409-00124(1)
“easy birthday cake ideas is Googled 4400 times per month”
This is the second time writing this post, the first one vanished.

So, I’m not one of those cool moms who makes impressive birthday cakes.

In my almost six years of parenting, I have not made a SINGLE birthday cake.  I always buy them from the bakery at Walmart or some grocery store convenient to my house.  But this year for some reason, on my daughter’s THIRD birthday, I decided to take a stab (quite literally) at making my own cake.

I googled for a few hours (could have spent those hours actually making the cake instead) on easy cakes to make for girl’s birthday.  Wow.  Who would have known that ANY form of a castle cake could be considered easy!!!  Needless to say, even though my daughter would have LOVED to have seen a castle cake that her very own mother had designed–I regressed, and made a butterfly cake instead.  Indeed, a butterfly seems to be the SIMPLEST cake you could ever make.

It only requires a round pan, cake mix, icing and whatever remnants you have laying around for decoration.

I divided the batter into two different round pans.  It’s a good thing I did, because the first cake that I tried to remove from the pan, crumbled pretty badly.  (At least I did get to eat that one while I was finishing up the other one, on a positive note).  So, on the second one, I decided to cut it before I removed it, so that I could carefully take out each piece at a time.

You cut the round cake straight down the middle, then you divide those two parts, into 1/3 and 2/3 pieces.  Then you arrange the pieces as shown in the photo, ice it and decorate it.  You can make it look fancier if you know how to ice a cake and if you know how to decorate a cake.

Most directions use a candy stick in the middle for the butterfly antlers (or whatever that thing is called).  I used rolled up aluminum foil.

As you can see, the cake looks pretty messy, but it’s the thought that counts.  RIGHT?  Right?

Comment, if you have any easy, and I do mean easy cake ideas.  I’ve got THREE more birthdays to go in April!!!

Leave a Reply

