Rising Above

Rise Above

I will never rise above
what they are sitting beside me
quietly saying
like a record etching its tune in my brain
My destiny replays itself
in slow untouchable motion.

I see where you are
and do not want to arrive
if only by means of
retrospective revelation.

My imagination haunts me
when nothing comes close
to those images
I dream in vivid recollection.

My ideals are ravenous
stripping the marrow from my bones
now sunken and gray
no energy to fight them away.

So then I would sleep
to spark again
the interest
that once maintained
my attention.

Leave a Reply

