picture perfect

everyone looks so picture perfect
but I’m not in the picture
and no one ever asked me
to smile.

I’m tempted to save the world
but I’m so tired
of helping you
and just want someone
to save me.

I’m tied down
by these presidential dreams
while you live
vicariously
through my loyal gestures.

Getting ready
to set into motion
a future
I helped you build
while i stay at home
holding
all the pieces
together.

I like feeling
something
nothing better
than seeing you go
wakes me up
wondering
when you’ll be back
keeps me alive.

One thought on “picture perfect

Leave a Reply

