Desert Span

He sees me here
in this desert span
drinking
from my manmade
mirage of love.

And invites me
to thirst no more
to stop inverting
this image
in which I was created.

Oh dear Lord,
it is this quest for perfection
that leaves me
dusty heeled
and alone at the end of a day.

And can it be
that I should gain you
no longer to seek outward
what can only be once fulfilled
given the inward manifestation
of you.

I am Judas
and with not even so good as
a kiss
I will betray you.

Leave a Reply

