Am I Happy?

Am I happy?

I just need a friend
I threw away every
reference
to anything more.
No. Rephrase.
I tucked it away
safely
for a rainy day.
And the only way
I know
to make a friend
is to give something
I have to give
but it doesn’t mean
I don’t need
anything in return.
Because that would be desperation. And I’m not desperate.
But if I were, Who cares anyway.
We’re all desperate, just not always fully aware of it.

I just want someone to like me
hear what I have to say
listen to my songs
without turning away.

A Freaking Fairy Tale where you have to get drunk just to believe a 3 night stand was somehow something more.

Leave a Reply

