I HATE Discipline.

I hate everything about discipline.  I hate being disciplined.  I hate disciplining.  Since Biblically I’m not supposed to hate, I almost hate people who are disciplined.  I also almost hate people who are not disciplined.  I hate that most good things come through living a disciplined life.  I almost hate people who discipline their children.  I almost hate people who don’t.

I hate that in order to have well behaved children, I must discipline them.

I hate that if I want to be healthy, I must discipline myself to make healthy choices.

I hate that in order to learn a new skill, I must find the discipline to dedicate concentrated time to learning that skill.

I’m not the only one with a preoccupation with discipline and how I hate it but yet I need it and must use it if I want to excel.

Here are a few Google Keyword results on searches related to discipline.

“Discipline of children” is Googled 49,500 times per month.
“Classroom discipline” is Googled 22,000 times per month.
“Disciplined” is Googled 90,000 times per month.
“Spiritual discipline” is Googled 9,000 times per month.

Proverbs 12:1    Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but whoever hates correction is stupid.
Proverbs 13:24  Those who spare the rod of discipline hate their children. Those who love their children care enough to discipline them.

So it’s clear that “hating discipline” is not a good thing.  How does someone turn hate into love?

Leave a Reply

